Ok, I didn’t take notes while the debate was going on because I was crocheting. So, for in depth stuff, you’ll have to wait for a couple of days. Yes, I know, you could read about the debate somewhere else, but who’s funnier? Huh? You know it’s me!!

 

Anyway, the things that stick out in my really-ready-for-bed mind from the debate are:

-Sawyer asked what they’d be doing on a Saturday night, if not debating. All the others had normal stuff (mostly football). Even Ron Paul, who said he’d be with his family, but if they went to sleep he’d read an econ textbook, I believed. But Huntsman said some slobbery crap about talking to his two boys who are in the Navy and are an integral part of what makes this country great. Really? You would call your boys and tell them how you used them to plug yourself…one last time…for pres? Even after ALL the others had answered something rational?? Yeah. ok.

 

-For the first time in a long time, Ron Paul said something about foreign policy that I agreed with. Can’t quite remember it, off the top of my head (I said I was tired!), so you’ll have to wait until I watch it again and take notes.

 

-Santorum still knows his foreign policy. yea!

 

-So help me, Perry sounded pretty good. Yikes. He must have a debating coach now or something.

 

-If the candidates don’t stop saying things about each other that aren’t 100% true, I’m gonna have to smack ’em. They are not in 3rd grade. They had some spats, like they were 13 year old girlfriends having a tiff. Not cool. Most of it was fine, but the schoolyard garbage stood out. If it grated on me, guess what the NY Times will zero in on, hmmm?

 

-Newt is, if nothing else, hilarious. Well, he’s a lot of things, some of which aren’t fit to discuss in civil society, but I laughed out loud at some of his stuff.

 

-Romney made me laugh!!! He’s not made of plastic, y’all! And, he did point out the stupidity of a couple of questions. They are getting bolder…I like that.

 

-Could the moderators have asked any more stupid questions? And, I’d like to let Diane know that the “high minded” talk of the Constitution, that she thinks went on waaay too long (like a whole 3 minutes), is what is happening all over this country and people really do want to know what the candidates understand about it. Just because she thinks it’s irrelevant or over the head of the people who watch her show doesn’t mean the rest of us don’t get it.

 

-Apparently, Huntsman still feels that there is a trust deficit between Americans and the government.  I wonder if that is a sound bite he plays in his head while he sleeps. He says that ALL THE TIME. We get it. You think there should be trust. However, even if George Washington himself were the president, I wouldn’t trust him any further than I could throw him. He’s a politician. By nature, you don’t trust any politician…ever. That’s how we got into this mess in the first place!!!

 

That’s it. I’m going to bed. I have a headache.